Why does programmer have to choose between lists/tuples and keyword lists/maps?

Loving Elixir so far!

Came across the docs on basic types: list and tuples, keyword lists and maps. I understand the performance differences, some operations are O(n), others are O(1).

But why does the programmer have to make this choice? Conceptually, I’d think the program logic should care about whenever something is a list of things, or a mapping from things to other things.

The language could statically (or at runtime) look at what operations are most commonly invoked and pick the most optimal implementation. Values in Elixir are immutable, so seems like it shouldn’t be impossible to do so.

I’m sorry if the question sounds dumb :sweat_smile:I understand that Erlang interop is a big deal, but Elixir got lots of cool modern language features, why don’t use this opportunity to simplify core data structures list a little bit?

I’m just a beginner but it seems you only look at the performance aspect. What about readability? If you start using lists everywhere without using tuples, because let’s say the compiler would transform stuff as you said for you, I will have a hard time understanding your code/the purpose of your structures? Because each structure has its own usage.

E.g. list is used for undetermined amount of elements, tuples for determined amount. Keyword lists for options, configuration, … Map for structured data. Etc

2 Likes

Those are typical data structure You may find in many functional languages… They are not the same, they apply best in different situation.

Because You don’t have object, You compose complex structure from primitive. You can create new type.

For example, You often use a tuple like {:ok, whatever} for response.
or list for recursion
or map, for structured data
or tuple, for fixed size record
Usually You can use map, as they are the most used in Elixir.

Also, I think in terms of types much more often than with dynamic language, like Ruby.