Why is :current_user is always nil in conn

I handle session management in my phoenix controllers by setting the :current_user of the connection:

def create(conn, params) do
    case Hestia.Session.login(params, Hestia.Repo) do
      {:ok, user} ->
        conn
        |> put_session(:current_user, user)
      :error ->
        {:error, :unauthorized}
    end
  end

When accessing the webpage via a browser such as Safari or Chrome, the session seems to stay for weeks without need for the user to re-login.

When accessing the server via the mobile app (using Alamofire or SDWebImage for instance) for each http-request a login is necessary. I.e. the session seems to never be re-used.

I am trying to understand what happens and I am no expert. What does the browser do differently than the mobile libraries and is it possible and advisable to replicate what the browser does? Currently, I pass the user and password on every http-request. This means that the server looks up the user and hits the database for every request. This is probably suboptimal. What do you think?

Best regards and thank you in advance for your time and help !

If you are using the default phoenix/plug sessions, then the default session store would be cookie. Can you verify the requests from coming from both the browsers and mobile app have the session cookie? You can inspect the conn.cookies (shows both req/res cookies) & conn.req_cookies to see the cookies for each request. If mobile requests don’t have cookies you might want to refer the docs for Alamofire/SDWebImage for storing/sending cookies.

This is just my guess of what could be happening, its not clear how your authentication is implemented.