Why is data deep-copied when sending to another process?

Hi everyone,

I’m just learning elixir with the help of “Elixir in Action” by Sasa Juric. In Chapter 5 “Concurrency primitives” there is something I don’t get. Maybe someone can help me?

It’s with regard to deep-copy data when sending data to another process.

“You may wonder about the purpose of shared-nothing concurrency. First, it simplifies the code of each individual process. Because processes don’t share memory, you don’t need complicated synchronization mechanisms such as locks and mutexes. Another benefit is overall stability: one process can’t compromise the memory of another.”

Why should there be a need for sync. mechanisms? Data is immutable, it can’t be mutated by another process. So compromising data shouldn’t be possible.
What am I missing?

Thanks, Marcello

You’re missing that processes die and that makes their heap be cleaned up. Or in other words: When state is shared you need to make sure to only clean it up when nobody needs it anymore. By copying data there’s no need to track processes, which need access to a piece of data.

5 Likes

yes, precisely that. However, what @marcello says is true mostly for the small messages.

If you have a message consisting of binaries larger that 64 bytes (which is, relatively small), these will not be copied and instead will be allocated somewhere in designated space on the BEAM. So, if you are sending large blobs between processes these are not copied over.

7 Likes