Why is my random number lookup slow using lists?

Hi, I am new to Elixir world and still have a long way to go, but starting with a basic problem I’ve been using to learn any new language - one with monkies hitting random keys and see if they can write a chapter out of Shakespeare’s book :slight_smile: - but in order to solve this problem, I need to generate a random letter, representing the monkey’s hitting a key…So after a bit of googling found an option using List and rand.uniform(…) to return a random “key” out of a fixed list

The problem is, doing this function over and over is a key component and is really slow compared to any other language… I know Elixir and the BEAM VM are designed for reliability and thus immutable obj can slow things down…

Is there any solution to speed this code up below, so that I can continue the journey with Elixir and write a program that can spawn million’s of monkies, all hitting keys

chars = ‘ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVW’
data = List.to_tuple(chars)

for x <- 0…1000000 do
elem(data, :rand.uniform(22))
end

Lists do not support random access and access is linear, so to get nth element you need n steps. In other words the Enum.at/2 for list will be implemented as:

def at([], _), do: nil
def at([val | rest], 0), do: val
def at([_ | rest], n) when n > 0, do: at(rest, n - 1)
2 Likes

Thanks for the help, and learned very quickly that in func lang, recursive is your friend :slight_smile: - meaning you can’t do list[index] … that not gone work

I tried your solution above but seems slower (And tried as in I prbl done something horribly wrong using your code, but have to start somewhere :)) - used Benchee for my benchmark results

defmodule Monkeyatwork do
  def at([], _), do: nil
  def at([val | rest], 0), do: val
  def at([_ | rest], n) when n > 0, do: at(rest, n - 1)     

def test1() do
    chars = 'ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVW'
    data = List.to_tuple(chars)

for x <- 0..1000000 do 
        elem(data, :rand.uniform(22))