Why is there so much hate for typespec?

Since i dont have much expericen with elixir i dont know why most of you think typespec doesnt help much. Any eg where typespecs doesnt work as like some other staticaly typed lang??

I can’t remember a single person on this forum hating or even disliking typespecs or static types.

5 Likes

No one hates them. The issues people raise with respect to static typing is that typespecs are opt-in and not really enforceable. So you can still compile your code and end up with runtime errors due to mismatched types. I admit to struggling with the syntax of typespecs for a while, but now I find them very useful for not only reading code but also organizing my thinking while writing code.

7 Likes

What those people want is for the typespecs to be strictly enforced, so you cannot compile the code if you have a mismatch. But as @stevensonmt mentioned, they are optional - basically just an extension of documentation.

2 Likes

I’m just learning Elixir and I tried typespecs once, but I found the error-messages very cryptical. Also I find the handling of multiple function heads confusing.
Dialyzer is happy if just one function matches the spec.
Anyway I ended up deleting all typespecs and adding a TODO “add typespecs” :slight_smile:

I don’t use typespecs because the time to utilize them is too long (in isolated CI), I find the syntax a bit hard to grok, and I believe that it’s very easy for the specs to not reflect reality. I once worked on a project where the team wanted to convince me that specs were a good thing. I looked through the existing source and a good many of the (passing) specs were completely incorrect. That was a major red flag about the specs being more harm than good.