Why should Elixir/Phoenix be the stack of choice?

Take a moment and imagine… Your friends/clients explain their idea and ask you for advice on building it. You see Elixir and Phoenix, perhaps LiveView being a good fit. What do you notice yourself sharing about and emphasizing most? Which advantages do you tend to highlight?

The question is intentionally broad: perhaps your friends shared about their startup idea, or your clients shared about building a new component to interact within an already large-scale distributed system. This exercise of imagination may land anywhere on the spectrum; you pick!

Bonus points if your friends/clients are less technical and your short pitch is tailored to them.

1 Like

I recently tried Nextjs and Remix to explore other stacks since I’ve been using Elixir and Phoenix since 2016.

You won’t find the dev UX you take for granted in Elixir and Phoenix.

Endless routing options, background jobs? Just install Squirrel and yadabadabadoo or just use AWS SQS. What about solid backend processes? Can I call those in some kind of repl? In Elixir I can just go iex -S mix phx.server and MyModule.foobar("test") and bada bing I’m all set. What about logging? Wait I need to decide and configure a logger? I also need to decide and configure what to output to? What about a nice ORM? Prisma looks good, set that whole thing up from scratch, I need to await, but special considerations need to be thought of when iterating through a collection? Promise.all vs for…of? I iterated an array and want to save it to the DB but it’s running out of connections? Why do I even need to think about this?

You get all this for free and robust and predictable in Phoenix and Elixir.

And with Liveview you get all that + a responsive modern web application.

I don’t see myself ever leaving Phoenix and Elixir. It’s really incredible what Jose and Chris have built on an arguably shoestring budget/team size.

5 Likes