Will reading a Haskell book help adopt a functional programming mindset?

I’ve been using Elixir on personal projects for a while (I even managed to create a dashboard tool at work using Elixir which is now on some screens in the office), but I still feel I haven’t made the switch of mindset from imperative to functional, I’m working with Java at work, and I think that thinking more functional will help me to be a better programmer. I studied functional programming at uni a long time ago, but now I really wanna go in depth to change my mindset, and I think that in order to understand I should go and read books about pure functional languages. After researching I think I’m gonna read a Haskell book, Real World Haskell - do you guys think this is a good idea, that reading a book like that will help me to understand the concepts about functional programming and help me to change my imperative mindset?

It can teach you functional programming but it also has a lot of other concepts which are really orthogonal to functional programming.

Things like:

• Types
  • Lazy by default
  • Functors, Monoids, Monads

I’ve tried to dive into Haskell a few times. I have no problems with the functional part but I never manage to grok the entire “system” so I spent more time struggling with that than learning functional programming. They say it is a good language though so perhaps I’ll give it another go sometime. :wink:

You might also want to have a look at more general functional programming books such as:

and

1 Like

Haskell is root of functional programming. If you know haskell you know it all :slight_smile:
But haskell can be no so much practical in some cases, but I think it worth to know it.

I don’t know Real World Haskell book but I can recommend you http://haskellbook.com/.
You can check book resources at my repo https://github.com/mkunikow/haskellbook.
There is nice slack channel for this book. So if you stuck with something you can ask.