XML Parsing, Building, and Validating

I have been looking at the available Elixir/Erlang libraries for working with XML and cannot seem to find something that can do everything Nokogiri (Ruby) does.

I have come down to sweet_xml for parsing xml and erlsom for validating xml. I could use xml_builder to build xml or even erlsom. I have not found a library other than erlsom that does all three- parsing, building and validating. I am also an Elixir newbie so I could be missing something.

What would you all suggest? Using a combination of libraries as mentioned above or is there something else out there I’m missing?

1 Like

I had the similar issue. I need to parse complicated XML into many structs with hierarchy (to provide good abstraction and functions on them), and also need to update XML (which is actually create new copy with changes, you know)

I’m using sweet_xml for parsing to hierarchy, but I think I have to deal with underlying erlang library anyway - probably xmerl format instead of erlsom, since xmerl looks like the built-in app in Erlang and probably be accepted by more libraries.

But yes, I miss Nokogiri style DOM manipulation and easy output (to_xml).

1 Like

@chulkilee

Does xmerl do xml schema validation? I briefly looked at it, but did not see that it did.

Oh I don’t need xml validation so I didn’t check that out.

However quick google gives me xmerl_xsd which should except xmerl form :slight_smile:

If you don’t need validation and the XML can all fit in memory then the Meeseeks library has a FANSTATIC query interface into XML that puts anything else I’ve used yet to shame. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

So would that be even better than sweet_xml. I will still need validation and the ability to build xml, but I could just use xmerl for that part.

1 Like

I’ll keep looking into this and post back if I find some new info.

1 Like