Yacco - Yet another calendar converter

Yacco will be a visual calendar converter written in Elixir and Phoenix based on my packages Calixir and Calendars.

1 Like

2020-07-31

An Engineering Notebook (ENB)

I’m not a newbie when it comes to software development. But I’m an absolute beginner when it comes to Phoenix/LiveView.

This is my first attempt to create something useful in Elixir/Phoenix/LiveView. I don’t yet know where this journey will end. I consider my posts in this thread as a progress report or as something like an ENB (Engineering Notebook) where I record my design reasoning and decisions.

This idea of an ENB fascinates me. I came across this idea on the Leo Google group. Leo is a Python-based outliner/IDE/development platform. In this group, the creator of Leo, Edward K. Ream, frequently writes up his reasoning about certain aspects of Leo for everybody to see and invites comments. So an outsider can better understand why what is done or left out (example).

I’ve done some prior work in this field. Out of some nostalgia and for documentation, a horribly buggy version of a Javascript-based calendar converter is included in assets/javascript/index.html. The whole user interface (mainly entry and display fields) and the scripts (calendar conversions) are contained in this single file. You can double-click on this file to open it in a browser. Its interface gives you some idea what Yacco will look like.

As Yacco will be based on my packages Calixir and Calendars I will try to show all the calendars contained in these package on one page. Changing but one field of one calendar should result in an update of all the fields of all the other calendars.

I don’t yet know how to achieve this in Phoenix, but first I want to try two approaches:

• Put every field of every calendar in its own process or agent, or
  • put every every calendar with its subfields in its own process or agent.