8 years of Elixir books - which ones have been your faves?

Can you believe the first professionally published Elixir book was published just 8 years ago? Since then I think we’ve seen more books for Elixir than any other language of a similar age (except maybe Swift).

Which ones have you read and which ones are your faves? :upside_down_face:

3 Likes

I’m kinda new to elixir and just read a couple of books but I really liked Programming Ecto: Build Database Apps in Elixir for Scalability and Performance. Well written and really made med understand ecto, changesets etc.

4 Likes

Elixir in Action is a HOF to me.
I also really liked the weather station with nerves, quick pace and straight to the point, lots of fun there.

I’m starting Chris’ metaprogramming one, I’ll report back later.

3 Likes

Elixir in Action

• understand Elixir basics and OTP

Designing Elixir Systems with OTP

• lots of good principles explained

Concurrent Data Processing in Elixir

• data!
6 Likes

If I had to chose only one book, it would certainly be Elixir in Action!

4 Likes

+1 Elixir In Action; great content as noted. Also just really well -written - I stopped multiple times to appreciate just how much better a given concept was explained relative to an average programming book.

3 Likes

Awesome!

I have enjoyed all the books I’ve read to date, cross-posting my reviews here in case any newcomers are interested:

Programming Elixir

Elixir In Action

Programming Ecto

Learn Functional Programming with Elixir

Programming Phoenix

(Not a review as I never got around to finishing it but just some quick thoughts)

I really want to read Programming Phoenix from scratch, but think I am going to wait until it’s updated for LiveView…

6 Likes

Faves in order are:

1. Elixir in Action
  2. (a tie) Programming Phoenix & Phoenix LiveView
  3. Designing Elixir Systems With OTP