API url security

I work as a Developer Advocate for API and Mobile security, therefore I feel that I have the duty to inform you about this:

Please don’t use numerical ids to access resources on your backend, because all it takes to an attacker to enumerate all them is to increase an ID by one.

The use of an ID, also known as Broken Object Level Authorization, is the first risk listed in the OWASP API TOP 10:

https://github.com/OWASP/API-Security/blob/master/2019/en/src/0x11-t10.md

I know that Phoenix and a lot of other frameworks, in all programming languages, encourage the use of the ID, but that is only to make the frameworks more appealing to use by developers, because it makes so dam easy to build a CRUD demo.

To build a :slug I use this:

defmodule UtilsFor.Text.Slug do

def slugify(text, symbol)
    when is_binary(text)
    and byte_size(text) > 0
    and is_binary(symbol)
    and byte_size(symbol) > 0 do

text
    |> UtilsFor.Text.Trim.to_single_whitespace()
    |> String.downcase()
    |> String.replace(~r/[^\w#{symbol}]+/u, symbol)
    |> String.replace(~r/#{symbol}#{symbol}+/, symbol)
    |> String.trim(symbol)
  end

end

I use the above to build a slug in my web app: https://video-hub.exadra37.com/watch/exadra37/why-we-built-our-own-distributed-column-store-by-sam-stokes

6 Likes

What would be the attack vector in this case though? Of course, for certain resources, don’t leak any kind of unnecessary details, but in this case I don’t see how this applies.

StackOverflow and lots of other services follow the /:id/:slug pattern.

Take your StackOverflow link, for example:

https://stackoverflow.com/users/6454622/exadra37

• change the slug part and it will always redirect you to the correct url with the current slug
  • this allows for infinite slug changes without having to keep a history to do the redirects
  • you simply check if the slug matches the current slug, otherwise do a 301 Redirect to the correct path
1 Like