Call the new action from a controller with javascript

Hello,
I am a complete jasvascript newbie so please bear with me.
I am using fullcalnedar.io to render a calendar in one of my views and I would like to prompt the new action from my appointment controller when I click on a date on the calendar. So i have to create a function that corresponds to the dayClick helper from the api that calls the new action in the controller and passes to it the start and end date. I know how to get the start date and the other details in javascrit I just don’t know how to make the call. should I use ajax? if so could you give me an example of how you would do it that I coul use as an example for then my other actions such as edit?
Thank you very much for your patience
Carlo

You can read about making requests from js using XMLHttpRequest here or fetch here.

For XMLHttpRequest it would be something like this, probably (adapted from https://stackoverflow.com/questions/9713058/send-post-data-using-xmlhttprequest)

var xhr = new XMLHttpRequest();
var endpoint = "/api/calendar";
var payload = JSON.stringify({startDate: startDate, endDate: endDate});
xhr.open("POST", endpoint);

xhr.setRequestHeader("content-type", "application/json");

xhr.onreadystatechange = function() {
  if (xhr.readyState == 4 && xhr.status == 200) {
    console.log(xhr.responseText);
  }
}

xhr.send(payload);

And for fetch (adapted from https://stackoverflow.com/questions/29775797/fetch-post-json-data)

fetch("/api/calendar", {
  headers: {
    "accept": "application/json",
    "content-type": "application/json"
  },
  method: "POST",
  body: JSON.stringify({startDate: startDate, endDate: endDate})
})
.then(function(resp) { console.log(resp) })
.catch(function(resp) { console.log(resp) })
1 Like

Doing what exactly?

You have to understand that once the page is loaded in the browser there is no inherent “connection” between the browser page and the Phoenix controller.