Correct strategy for using datepicker attached to an input field with Liveview?

Hi!

I’m prepping to use flatpickr, a date picking library which attaches to a specific input field. I’m curious as to the best approach to integrate this with Liveview.

I’m using alpine.js to reveal the input field and to create the flatpickr instance on my input field. However, when Liveview handles the validation on change, it seems that flatpickr becomes “detached” from the target - the instance is still in memory, but cannot be opened. In the absence of a way to transfer the existing instance to the updated DOM element, I am assuming my best bet is to track and destroy() existing instance(s) and reinitialize via a client hook called on updated.

This might be exactly the right way to do this, but any other suggestions? My JS knowledge has atrophied a bit and I’m new to Liveview, so I’m just looking for validation that I’m not overlooking something.

Thanks so much for reading!

3 Likes

Hi @rio517

I’m just curious as I’m about to integrate a datepicker into my application. Is this an issue with flatpickr itself. Have you tried other datepickers and do you get the same issues?

cheers

Dave

That would probably apply to any datepicking library.

I re-read the docs and missed the fact that one could attach phx-update="ignore" to disable patching on specific DOM nodes. I added this to my input field’s parent and wallah! This obviates the need to manage specific instances.

Of course, if anyone has any better ideas, let me know!

That said, I’m surprised that Liveview patches the entire form when validating. I would have thought Liveview would focus on what was changed, not the entire form. I’m guessing that since Liveview patches elements based on changed assigns, that the round trip of the form_data is the change that causes the DOM patch… ?? I’m hoping I can find some time to look into that more and maybe open a github issue to gather more info.

2 Likes