Creating process from GenServer and passing state

Context:

I am pretty new to OTP. In trying to learn it I’m creating an application that does the following (high level overview):

1. users submit X number tasks to a GenServer.
  2. The GenServer iterates over the queue of tasks and creates a process for each task.
  3. Once the process is completed it will notify the GenServer it’s done and return its value.
  4. Once the GenServer get’s notified it will update the state with the process’s return value, and notify the client with the updated state.

The diagram demonstrates what I’m trying to achieve.

I am able to spawn a process from the GenServer; however, I’m struggling to connect between the GenServer and process, so the process can call the GenServer; in return, the GenServer can handle_call/3.

Questions:

1. Am I taking the right approach of calling a process from a GenServer? Is there better way to create process from GenServer and notify the process about the state?
  2. How do I call GenServer from a process and passing the state to server?
1 Like

This sounds a lot like the Task functionality in the Elixir standard library. Here’s some relevant discussion from 2018, complete with a code example:

The tricky part with spawning additional processes is making sure everything works sensibly when things go wrong - what happens when those processes shut down, when the parent shuts down, etc. The Task library wraps the relevant parts (linking, supervising and so on).

3 Likes

I believe this is what I needed, thank you @al2o3cr! I’m going to give @joaquinalcerro implementation a shot.

@venomnert,

Even though this code might work for your current use case you have to consider what happens if one of the tasks crashes.

With this code, if one task crashes, your GenServer will also crash with your state because the Task is still sending the GenServer a message that is currently not handled. You can handle them as follows: