Ecto Oracle adapter

See if this look interesting oranif
An ecto wrapper is also possible. Please let me know if that would be useful.
TIA

5 Likes

Welcome on-board, I will check the library out. Thanks.

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

Are you saying you can provide an Ecto adapter for Oracle? Some of us have been waiting for something like that for months or even years. As I said above, jamdb is the closest we have.

1 Like

Thanks,

I am new to elixir and learning. If ecto adapter is in demand I will give it a try and my learning exercise.

Oranif is pure erlang NIF wrapper of Oracle ODPI-C thin OCI wrapper. This deprecates erloci (I wrote a while ago) the old port driver to access directly OCI.

Oranif has has out performed in throughput of insert/select/update of erloci and Erlang ODBC quite significantly so far.

So if you are looking for performance and compiling NIFs in deps isn’t an issue then oranif should help.

I haven’t performance compare against jamdb or odbc though yet!

3 Likes

Thank you. Other than ETS I haven’t really used Erlang modules directly at all, but I’ll give oranif a try.

I don’t know if you already aware of this two resources:

Article series on latest MySQL Ecto adapter:

http://blog.plataformatec.com.br/2018/11/building-a-new-mysql-adapter-for-ecto-part-i-hello-world/

There’s a talk at this year Elixir conference as well, and:

Also, I’m not experienced in Elixir enough to help you with the code, but let me know if you need help testing.

2 Likes

I looked into postgres elixir driver and postgres ecto adapter together with ecto_sql.
If my understanding is correct so far, I need to first wrap oranif in elixir which will integrate eventually ecto Oracle adapter.
So if I manage to write a functional a elixir wrapper driver in the mean time I will let you know and you can try that out instead oranif Erlang calls.
Will much appreciate a code review and test when the driver is ready to use.
TIA

2 Likes