Elixir for an absolute beginner?

Hello experts,

I am 36 years old (damn time flies by), at the moment I have job and have worked 12 years as finance administration (to be honest its really boring). I want to start a new career path something that give me a future and something that is fun/cool because I need to work till 67 ;). With that said:

Can I learn Elixer from scratch? is it friendly for beginners? Where can I start learning Elixer? What are some good books (for beginners off course)?

I love learning new things, but need some guidance where to start, many thanks in advance.

Regards,
Ivo

6 Likes

Wow thats a sharp change :slight_smile: Do you have an idea of the area you are trying to target often times Elixir by itself will not be enough. The best Elixir book I read so far is Elixir in Action by @sasajuric but not sure it would be the best starter book. The Little Elixir & OTP Guidebook by @bentanweihao might be easier (canā€™t tell for sure as I have not had time to really read it through yet)).

3 Likes

Awesome life decision. I wish you the best.

You certainly have chosen the right place to start. Elixir has a great life expectancy and is easily the goto language for web/embedded development for the next 10-15 years. Itā€™s hard to see beyond that, but know that its foundation - Erlang/BEAM ā€“ has already been around for about 30 years, and is now being re-discovered due to Elixir.

I recommend that you start with the online getting started guides on the main elixir website, then choose something that interests you to build, for example, a simple web page or commandline app. Then, as you start to build the app, research and learn what you need to know to build each phase of the app.

Learning by building something makes learning much more interesting for me and helps you solidify your learning.

Good luck!

Jim

10 Likes