Elixir/Phoenix for building a real-time browser chat app?

Hello, I am an entrepreneur and novice web developer.
I am building a real-time one-on-one browser chat app with similarities
to Omegle but with database functionality as well.

Initially I thought of building the back-end on Python, but then I heard
of Elixir, and being the contrarian that I am, it caught my interest immediately.

Unfortunately since I am such a beginner in webdev I am still not smart
enough to know if an app like mine would benefit from being implemented in Elixir +
Phoenix instead of say something like Python and Flask, so I was hoping to get your advice on this.

So if you don’t know about Omegle, the way it works is it’s a random
chat app, there’s no search at all, all you do is request to chat and it connects
you with a random person. A couple hundred thousand chats occur at any given time.
It’s mostly I/O bound by network operations.

So I am curious if Elixir/Phoenix will be a good platform for building this app or if it is overkill. Additionally it’s also important for me that the languages used for building are fairly expressive and can achieve results with less code.

Thanks.

2 Likes

Hello @alice and welcome!
My 2 cents: you can build such an application almost out of the box with Phoenix, implementing channels and an Ecto repo for the persistence layer on a DB. Just start hacking a proof of concept to see it with you eyes! It won’t take much, have fun!

P.S. Phoenix generators are your best friends to start with, follow the official tutorial. You’ll get plenty of answers to your future questions in this forum, and from much more skilled people than me!

P.S.2 I find hard to find a language more clear, explicit and expressive than Elixir.

2 Likes

Elixir/Phoenix will do an awesome job, to give you a head start I recommend Real-Time Phoenix by @sb8244

3 Likes