ElixirLS (VSCode extension) installation issue on WSL2, Ubuntu

Hi everyone, I am new to Elixir and to programming in general. I am still setting things up to get working whith Elixir.

When installing ElixirLS extension in VSCode (running in Ubuntu WSL2, whith WSL extension installed), I have this output :

/root/.vscode-server/extensions/jakebecker.elixir-ls-0.14.0/elixir-ls-release/launch.sh: line 77:  5504 Killed                  elixir "$SCRIPTPATH/quiet_install.exs" > /dev/null 2> /dev/null < /dev/zero
[Error - 6:45:20 PM] Server initialization failed.
    Message: Pending response rejected since connection got disposed
    Code: -32097 
[Info  - 6:45:20 PM] Connection to server got closed. Server will restart.
true
[Error - 6:45:20 PM] ElixirLS - elixir client: couldn't create connection to server.
    Message: Pending response rejected since connection got disposed
    Code: -32097

Environment

• Windows 11 → WSL2 → Ubuntu 22.04.2 LTS
  • VSCode whith WLS extension
  • Erlang/OTP 25 / Elixir 1.14.4 (installed using asdf, no problem using elixir or iex commands)

Troubleshooting

• [tried] : Restart your editor (which will restats ElixirLS) sometimes fixes issues
  • [couldn’t find any directory] : Stop your editor, remove the entire .elixir_ls directory, then restart your editor

To be honest I don’t understand the output and what server is involved in the process of the installation. But I saw that people managed to install this extension on WSL2 without trouble here : VSCode - Elixir LS + WSL - #15 by robert

Thanks a lot if you have insights :pray:

I’m experiencing the same thing. I believe it’s a bug in the brand-new v0.14.0 release. I’d recommend reverting to v0.13.0 until it’s resolved, which will hopefully be soon.

Extension settings:

Click the down arrow next to Uninstall, then Install Another Version…

Select 0.13.0. May need to reload VSCode.

5 Likes