Get Token for Protected API Routes via API (not UI)

Hello!
I have a Phoenix 1.7 LiveView app up and running with auth via
mix phx.gen.auth Accounts User users.
I’m still learning, but really enjoying it so far!
I’m running into a situation, though, where I am not quite sure even how to ask. Basically, I want to allow API users (outside of the LiveView) to access protected routes.
If I try to POST to /users/log_in, I get CSRF errors, which I think is correct. So, what is the correct way to get a token to use with the API?
Should I

1. use mix phx.gen.secret to
  2. add an API key table with the user ID as a foreign key
  3. build my own plug to check the API key
  4. use Phoenix.Token to return a token if the API key is in the table?

I feel like I’m probably missing something since this must be a common use case with a canonical implementation.
Please point me in the right direction.
Thank you!

1 Like

I’m not that qualified in this area, and our authentication system was built on the back of Ash Authentication rather than using phx.gen.auth. However, the following may give you some pointers:

1. In your router you need an API pipeline that bypasses the CSRF checks. A default Phoenix project should already have an :api pipeline.

2. You would then expose a controller through this API pipeline to retrieve a token, e.g.

scope "/api", MyWeb do
    pipe_through [:api]

post "/get_token", AuthApiController, :get_token
  end

This wouldn’t include the controllers that expose functionality you want protected behind auth.

1. Update your :api pipeline to attempt authentication, e.g. by reading a bearer token from the HTTP headers, checking that token, if successful, setting a :current_user assign on the connection. I’m not sure how you do that with phx.gen.auth. Ash Authentication has a load_from_bearer plug that handles most of the mechanics for us.

Our API pipeline looks more or less like:

pipeline :api do
    plug :accepts, ["json"]