How do I set the env at alias??

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Elixir. I try to create an alias for running another group of tests which has its owned environment. It can be run with MIX_ENV specified. May I set the env at alias to have a simpler command? Like api_test:

defp aliases do
  [
    "ecto.setup": ["ecto.create", "ecto.migrate", "run priv/repo/seeds.exs"],
    "ecto.reset": ["ecto.drop", "ecto.setup"],
    "test": ["ecto.create --quiet", "ecto.migrate", "test"],
    "api_test": "test --only api_test:true"
  ]
end
2 Likes
defp aliases do
  [
    …,
    "api_test": &api_test/1
  ]
end

defp api_test(_) do
  Mix.env(:test) # or whatever env you need
  MixTask.run("test" ["--only", "api_test:true"])
end

This is from memory though, can’t test it right now.

6 Likes

Wow… This is a great idea… I will do that.

It failed. It tries to load the live reload server

** (UndefinedFunctionError) function Phoenix.LiveReloader.init/1 is undefined (module 
Phoenix.LiveReloader is not available)
    Phoenix.LiveReloader.init([])
    (plug) lib/plug/builder.ex:302: Plug.Builder.init_module_plug/4
    (plug) lib/plug/builder.ex:286: anonymous fn/5 in Plug.Builder.compile/3
    (elixir) lib/enum.ex:1899: Enum."-reduce/3-lists^foldl/2-0-"/3
    (plug) lib/plug/builder.ex:284: Plug.Builder.compile/3
    (plug) expanding macro: Plug.Builder.__before_compile__/1

there’s also this in mix.exs:

def project do
    [
      …,
      preferred_cli_env: [
        coveralls: :test,
        "coveralls.detail": :test,
        "coveralls.post": :test,
        "coveralls.html": :test,
        "test.reset": :test,
        "test.integration": :test
      ]
    ]
  end
3 Likes

After adding the preferred_cli_env, the previous error is gone. But it still not run the test because:
** (Mix) “mix test” is running on environment “api_test”. If you are running tests along another task, please set MIX_ENV explicitly

It looks like I have to use MIX_ENV…