How popular are Elixir development jobs in your country?

adoption

I am a developer from Hong Kong, I am learning Elixir and love it so much. However there are almost zero Elixir development jobs in HK, I wonder how hard do you find a Elixir job in your country? Btw, I am working for a startup, I have some sort of flexibility to choose the tech stack for a new project, I think I would try to convince my boss to adopt Elixir.

That still seems to be the best way to work in Elixir full-time. I’m doing the same. The book Adopting Elixir might be of help here.

I’m prob going to have to start a company if I ever want a Elixir job.

Sometimes it takes time - it takes early adopters to act first… maybe you can be one in your country? :003:

I’m actually surprised at how popular Elixir is here in the UK, quite a bit more than I thought it would be. That could well be because Erlang has been pretty popular here too (perhaps because of Erlang Solutions, Robert, Joe and Mike’s links to the UK? :smiley:)

Elixir also seems to be pretty popular in many other countries too. I think maybe we need to bump this poll for all our newbies:

I know only of one company in Norway which has mentioned Elixir in their job listings. There are a couple of large companies using Erlang.

It’s hard to say since I’m in the middle of it, but there is a company called Quanterall here in Bulgaria that works (only?) with Elixir.

Creative Assembly / SEGA Sofia works with Erlang and might switch to Elixir! I’m not sure. I’m not there anymore so I’m guessing they’re less inclined to switch now.

By the way, here are some resources for finding Elixir jobs in your country.

Job listing section on this forum:
https://elixirforum.com/c/community/elixir-jobs

Elixir Jobs section on Stack Overflow:

Elixir Jobs website:

Elixir Career website:

I am from Canada, and I have not seen any Elixir jobs here, not even in Vancouver which tends to catch trends from Seattle. It’s the dark ages up here. Sigh.