How popular are Elixir development jobs in your country?

I am a developer from Hong Kong, I am learning Elixir and love it so much. However there are almost zero Elixir development jobs in HK, I wonder how hard do you find a Elixir job in your country? Btw, I am working for a startup, I have some sort of flexibility to choose the tech stack for a new project, I think I would try to convince my boss to adopt Elixir.

1 Like

That still seems to be the best way to work in Elixir full-time. I’m doing the same. The book Adopting Elixir might be of help here.

1 Like

I’m prob going to have to start a company if I ever want a Elixir job.

1 Like

Sometimes it takes time - it takes early adopters to act first… maybe you can be one in your country? :003:

I’m actually surprised at how popular Elixir is here in the UK, quite a bit more than I thought it would be. That could well be because Erlang has been pretty popular here too (perhaps because of Erlang Solutions, Robert, Joe and Mike’s links to the UK? :smiley:)

Elixir also seems to be pretty popular in many other countries too. I think maybe we need to bump this poll for all our newbies:

2 Likes

I know only of one company in Norway which has mentioned Elixir in their job listings. There are a couple of large companies using Erlang.

It’s hard to say since I’m in the middle of it, but there is a company called Quanterall here in Bulgaria that works (only?) with Elixir.

Creative Assembly / SEGA Sofia works with Erlang and might switch to Elixir! I’m not sure. I’m not there anymore so I’m guessing they’re less inclined to switch now.

1 Like

By the way, here are some resources for finding Elixir jobs in your country.

Job listing section on this forum:
https://elixirforum.com/c/community/elixir-jobs

Elixir Jobs section on Stack Overflow:
https://stackoverflow.com/jobs/developer-jobs-using-elixir

Elixir Jobs website:

Elixir Career website:
https://elixir.career

1 Like