How to make 3 queries become one

Hello, I’m trying to join 3 different tables with the only field in common as account_id with no success after 3 days of failure. I have no knowledge of SQL, but I have the following function being looped through 3x and merged to get the result I need. I’d like to compress it into one call.

I’m essentially running the function below on 3 different modules (read schemas). :frowning: I’m sure there’s a better way.

def get_data(module) do
    module
    |> order_by(desc: :id)
    |> preload(account: :users])
    |> Repo.all()
  end

Any help would be immensely appreciated.

Is your current approach working, just a bit messy, or is it not working?

A typical pure SQL approach would be something like this (depending on your SQL dialect):

SELECT combined.f1, combined.f2, combined.table_name, accounts.* FROM
  (SELECT f1, f2, 'table1' AS table_name, account_id from table1
   UNION ALL SELECT f1, f2, 'table2' AS table_name, account_id from table2
   UNION ALL SELECT f1, f2, 'table3' AS table_name, account_id from table3
  ) AS combined
 LEFT JOIN accounts on combined.account_id = account.id

It’s working; but it’s making 3 Repo.all calls. I’d like to learn how to do this correctly with Elixir :confused:

I’ve read the relevant parts of the Programming Ecto and still can’t figure it out.

What you are looking for is a UNION query either with a preload, or pre-joined at the database. The above is in raw SQL. I had a quick hunt around the Ecto repository and it looks like there is some Ecto support for Unions - see https://github.com/elixir-ecto/ecto/pull/2678 and https://github.com/elixir-ecto/ecto/issues/1549. I am not familiar with the implementation, but hopefully that points you in the right direction.

PS: docs are here: https://hexdocs.pm/ecto/Ecto.Query.html#union_all/2

1 Like

Did you tried the Ecto.Query.join/5 examples?

In your case, you would start with one model/table and join the other two on account_id.