Is LiveView a suitable choice for serving as a game server for a simple Three.js game?

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Phoenix, having just started the Pragmatic Studio LiveView course. Concurrently, I’m learning Three.js via the Threejs-Journey course. My primary background is in JS/TS/Vue development.

I’m interested in creating a straightforward “memory card” game. I envision it as an online multiplayer game, where two players can connect or create a “game room” that displays the 3D memory card game. My idea is to utilize Phoenix as the game server, primarily responsible for tracking the positions of the cards.

My main question is: would LiveView be suitable for such a project? While I can conceptualize the connection between a Vue or React app and making REST calls on every card flip, I’m finding it challenging to visualize how I’d integrate the game with LiveView, especially in the context of websockets.

Any guidance or insights you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the forums!

I was typing up an answer to this earlier and then it disappeared! So, here it is:

The short answer is: yes, very-well suited. Almost tailor-made!

Here’s a talk and repo for implementing King of Tokyo (a multiplayer board game, if you are unfamiliar) in LiveView.

2 Likes

I don’t know how threejs works but have you looked at Phoenix Channels, which is part of what Liveview is written on top of

2 Likes

You should think of channels as bidirectional super controllers :slight_smile:

1 Like

I saw a talk about Three.JS a couple of weeks ago. Really cool technology!

Keep us posted on how this progresses.

1 Like

Hi @JsonKody, and welcome!

LiveView would be awesome for this project and simplifies a lot of the plumbing over raw Phoenix Channels. I have embedded Babylon JS (Threejs alternative), and Konvajs (2D rather than 3D) and they work great. Here are a few of the ingredients you need: