Learning back end Elixir programming without back end experience

hi,i’m new to programming world i had learned front-end( javascript,react.js) and i wanna learn a back-end programming language i thought of choosing elixir,without any knowledge of back-end can i learn elixir?

1 Like

Elixir would be a fine choice for learning back-end development, though I’d recommend learning Elixir by itself first :slight_smile:

If you already know Javascript then Javascript would also be a good option for learning back-end development.

3 Likes

Personally I think that Elixir is easiest language (especially when learning as first language as you do not have any OOP language in mind).

The most important part for developer is how nice code (to read quickly) you are able to write (Elixir have awesome builtin support for lots of things like documentation) and how much code you need to write in order to achieve something.

(…) The new code is about one-tenth of the size of the old code. (…)

Source: An introduction to the Elixir programming language | Kyan

Other threads which may help you:

1. What is your number one tip for anyone new to Elixir?
  2. Your Elixir Tips Thread
  3. Elixir’s biggest gotchas?
7 Likes

thanks @Eiji

Dr. Stephen Strange: They really should put the warnings before the spell.

Ryan Dahl, Creator of Node.js:

And honestly, that’s the reason why I left Node. It was the realization that: oh, actually, this is not the best server-side system ever.

Node.js as a Backend: Best Use Cases, Tools & Limitations

Advice for choosing between elixir and nodejs

If you just want to get your feet wet start with Getting Started and continue with Mix and OTP to see if you’ll have any problems.