Matrix in Elixir

Hi guys, I have a problem that I really don’t know where to start.
I want to create a program with the elixir language in which I generate two matrices of 1 million random data, save each matrix in a different file and finally generate another one as a result of its multiplication. How can i start I am new with this language and I propose things beyond the normal. I want to use my new powerful server that I just bought. help me please.

Elixir is not the best fit for number crunching, but You might have a look at Matrex…

3 Likes

You are technically correct there (the best kind of correct :grin:) however that’s not the whole story. I haven’t run benchmarks, but I’d expect Elixir and Python to be not too far apart in number crunching abilities. Python is popular for data science and scientific computing not because of its own impressive numerical performance, but because it has well-known libraries that help to organize matrix manipulation pipelines but delegates the actual numerical computation to lower-level native code.

I’d love to see Elixir make headway into this matrix computation domain because it has superior process management and fault tolerance over Python. Matrex is a great example of delegating the number crunching to lower-level native code, just like Python does.

3 Likes

Can you elaborate on the use case?

For personal educational issues I don’t want to use another language just elixir; I want to create 3 matrices, the first and second matrix save 1 million x 1 million floating random numbers … matrix I want to save them in different txt files.
Then call those two files and multiply the numbers to generate another matrix of 1 million x 1 million results and save it in a different txt.

School, I’d venture :wink:

For such large matrices, you may not be able to fit it all in memory In the very least, I expect you’d want to serialize the multiplications rather than doing many 1Mx1M multiplications at the same time.