Must I use Phoenix framework?

I am an absolute Elixir beginner migrating from php, java, c# world. I want to build a super fast api server for Forex ( ie realtime currency trading exchange) with Elixir and (Redis, Cassandra or SqlServer, MySQL ?) Database. I would evaluate the system under 10million API calls and transactions per second. Elixir / Elang as i have read in some places offers the highest concurrecy and i assume it would make the best programming language for this experiment. I want to minimize the server overhead (CPU, RAM) at any cost. Must I used Phoenix or what am I to lose without it. Thank you.

NB. Any relevant resource to study as concerns such a project is appreciated!

1 Like

Of course there is nothing requiring you to use Phoenix :slight_smile: You have several options in the community, such as dropping down to plain Plug (which phoenix is built on), or using another Elixir webserver/library combo like Ace/Raxx, or even using Cowboy (an Erlang web server) from Elixir. Using Phoenix will not impose measurable overhead performance wise, and what you may lose by forgoing it depends on what exactly you’re building– which we have light details on. I will say Phoenix is great for API servers and it’s probably your most mature option. The SQLServer integration will be handled the same way regardless of your choice web wise. Maybe prototype out a couple options and see what fits best?

8 Likes

:wave:

I guess you’d need to clarify what you mean by “super fast”, “forex api server”, and how you are planning to use sqlserver in this setup.

Since phoenix is mostly geared towards web dev, it’s TCP-based. For “super fast” you might want to go with UDP. Although I’m not sure what “forex api server” here means, do you plan to make API requests to some other exchanges, and aggregate the results? And you might want to pick an in-memory database instead of a disk-based one.

4 Likes