Needed: back-enders guide to Phoenix and the Javascript ecosystem

I’m mainly a backend programmer. The only serious frontend programming I’ve done was using Cappuccino, which allowed me to not learn all the things that frontend programmers know.

It’s pretty clear to me that I need to learn frontend skills, but the ecosystem is complicated: Javascript map files and modules, CSS, minimization, brunch, npm, etc. etc. It’s overwhelming. Like many complex creations, “things are the way they are because they got that way” and people who weren’t around as the things happened find the result puzzling.

(AWS is very much this way, too.)

I was hoping I could pick up the frontend ecosystem the way I did SQL[*] and AWS: learning driven by particular problems. That doesn’t seem to be working. So I’m asking for suggestions for a more systematic course of study that would get me to the point where I could include and use some random jquery widget with ease. (My eventual goal is to use Elm as my main frontend technology, but I think it can’t insulate me from the ecosystem.)

[*] When I got my degree, 1981, only losers in the Management Information Systems school learned SQL. Real Programmers did operating systems, compilers, and networking code. Things have changed a bit.

4 Likes

There are a lot of resources. These may be handy for learning the fundamentals.
http://www.w3schools.com.
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Learn

There’s probably a good bit on YouTube. https://www.codeschool.com and https://teamtreehouse.com offer video based training. Not sure how much free content they have. There should be other sites that have video based training if these aren’t options for you. Hope that helps.

Paul

1 Like

Also let me say, Good Luck. The javascript ecosystem is truly horrible…

4 Likes