OAuth2 and JWT implementation for a mobile app service

Hello,

Is there any article or guide available on how to implement OAuth2 and JWT for token authentication of requests from a mobile app and web platform?

I would be grateful for any help in this regard.

Thanks.

Jerry

1 Like

I am a Developer Advocate for Mobile API security, and you can confirm that by my contributions in the security tag on StackOverflow, from where you may find some useful information to be applied in your project. You cam also take a look to my blog posts to find some useful information about security. Feel free to skip the ones that are specific about the product for the company where I work. :wink:

While not in Elixir you can see this repo I am maintaining at work for the demo in this series of blog posts about a practical API security within the context of a mobile app and a web interface used to attack the mobile app API:

In this mini series I am going to use a fictional product, “ShipFast”, to walk you through the process of defending against various exploits in a mobile application to gain access to data on a remote server allowing real users of the system to gain an unfair business advantage at the expense of the company.

You can also read this series of blog post on Mobile API security techniques to have a deeper dive in what type of attacks you can expect, how to defend against them and how the attacker can bypass that same defenses.

Have fun reading them, and while they where wrote by my colleagues, I am happy to clarify you about any doubt you may have regarding API security.

DO YOU WANT TO GO THE EXTRA MILE?

In any response to a question that relates to security I always like to reference the excellent work from the OWASP foundation.

For Web Apps

OWASP Web Top 10 Risks