Porting a commercial bootstrap/html template to phoenix framework

I bring my fraustration over to you guys. I’m new to elixir/phoenix and I’ve taken a voluntary project in order to motivate me to learn these technologies. I’ve purchased a commercial html5/bootstrap charity template from theme forest which I’m trying to use as the base for my project. The structure of the template is:

root
|_css(folder)
|_js(folder)
|_images(folder)
|_fonts(folder)
|_ a bunch of html files (One for each sample page)

The template runs fine as advertised ( ie: all the pages and functionality are as advertised). I have tried many times to replace the default phoenix app created to use this template. So far it never quite works. Either, the image slider on the homepage does not work (images don’t scroll, just displayed vertically one on top of another), a preloader fails to give way to image slider after set time (just highjacks the home page and stays there, or some images/graphics cannot be found or some javascript function cannot be found.

I believe I do the right thing copying the files and folders over as required in the phoenix documentation. The following is what I do:

I copied the css files to web/static/vendor/css except style.css which is template specific so I copy that to web/static/css. The javascript files are also copied to web/statci/vendor/js except style.js which is copied to web/static/js. The fonts and images folders are copied over to web/static/assets.