Reality check - about market prospects of Elixir/Phoenix

I have been Learning Elixir / Phoenix with a friend for past few weeks. He has a good number of experience years behind him (7-8 y) but I am a new dev (1-2 y experience) (25 y old).

We have been pretty happy with the no unnecessary headache which is almost opposite of js ecosystem in terms of “not doing unexpected things”.
So personally, I am happy.

One thing that bugs me sometimes is that the market size of elixir is small. Not many people I talk to know of such a thing (Elixir /phoenix).

ruby on rails has a greater market size. So getting a role there and switching companies is easier for a RoR (ruby on rails) developer but not so much for Elixir phoenix guy.

So, it leads me to conclude - just for being “safe” in future, I might have to learn RoR too. By "safe* , I mean retaining the ability to switch companies shall some personal circumstance demand so.

I have a few questions.

1. What is the market size of elixir.companies?
  2. What is the growth rate of such market?
  3. How should a young dev position himself ?

If anything else my unexperienced. Brain has missed.

8 Likes

Check out the #jobs channel on Slack. Seems pretty active and growing. I’m sure it pales in comparison to RoR, at least where I’m from it does.

Skills are transferable. Learn one thing well, then you’ll pick up others easily.

2 Likes

I never really made technology decisions based on “market size”. I learned C# because my school taught it, went with Rails because it was sexy, went with Meteor because it was productive, went with Typescript because it was better than javascript – and finally I went with Elixir in 2016 because it’s lovely to use and makes my life easier.