Testing & dev methodology for clean / elegant / maintainable code?

I’m still pretty new to programming. My last project was in Python. The debugging phase ended up taking way too long because of some key mistakes made early in the project.

I want to make sure the next project in Elixir doesn’t make similar mistakes.

So for seasoned Devs, I ask you…

1. What is the testing & dev methodology you recommend for generating clean / elegant / maintainable code with the least amount of debugging time?

2. And what are the tools you’re using to create / test that code in Elixir?

Thanks

Emily

2 Likes
  1. For clean code, I would recommend building your app as umbrella app.
  2. For testing application, for me at least, default tests are still good and there was no need to extend something more than that.
3 Likes

Check out this thread Emily:

2 Likes

for testing, hard to tell. I would say, write test for your module.

About dev methodology … I have a couple advice.

1. Sit down and think about your problem. Pick one end result and go back along the technological solution. You want to write down all the pieces you need. Begin large and fairly generic, then break them into smaller more precise pieces. This is your initial architecture. It will change during the course of your project.

2. Do not spend a lot of time into what the pieces will do. But try to decide how they will interact with each other. What type of data need to be passed? Does data goes in only one way ? Things like that. By doing that, you are defining the limits of your parts. It can be a fairly small part, it may end up being just a couple of functions.

3. But the nice thing about this definition of a contract between your parts mean that you can quickly change how one part work, or test and debug that part alone without impacting the rest of your project. This should help you save time.