Unpacked: Multi-Player Bingo (Pragmatic Studio)

Get 20% off with coupon code “elixirforum”!

7 Likes

I’m excited about this course and would love to hear a review of it if anyone has taken it. Also, what level is it for? Total beginner, novice, advanced?

1 Like

Looks like a great course! I’m also finding it interesting how so many of the Elixir learning resources are using games as their example apps - different to what I’m used to in Ruby where you often find they use online shops, twitter clones, blogs etc :slight_smile:

I’m guessing you have to do this after their Elixir and Elm courses - if you watch the intro video they say:

…this is different, because you’re beyond the beginner level. We’ll start with the completed app and unpack it layer by layer, focusing less on the syntax and and more on the design.

Agree with you about reviews - if anyone does this please let us know what you think :023:

1 Like

That is true, and I did watch the video and hear that. But I’ve seen that a lot of courses say they are not for beginners, and end up still hiding or not going over any of the complexity. Either way, definitely interested in hearing reviews.

1 Like

Working through the course, so far only the elixir content is available in video - although the whole codebase for the bingo app is available to browse.

The quality is great, code is presented very cleanly in VS code, with IEx sessions.

They assume a working knowledge of Elixir and Elm - deliberately skimming over the sequential game logic modules as that is not the focus of the course.

The coverage of DynamicSupervisor, Registry and GenServer to represent game sessions is great.

Looking forward to the Phoenix channels/presence and Elm content.

5 Likes

I bought it for only $25.6 (early access + elixirforum coupon code), not bad.

3 Likes

Just to confirm, that yes, you can use your forum coupon to get 20% off this or any other Pragmatic Studio course :023:

2 Likes