What learning resources make you write actual code?

Hello everyone,

The combo Elixir + Phoenix has been recommended to me by a very good friend to which I asked what the best framework is to build web applications.
My knowledge of programming is limited as I’m still learning (Rust, mostly, and some javascript tools).

My friend told me to go through the official documentation, but it’s all about syntax, typing stuff into iex, which is rather boring. So i went to the elixir koans.
Now don’t get me wrong. I love the koans, they are funny and thorough, and I will finish this course (I’m halway through).

HOWEVER what I would like is something like the Rust Book. It progressively explains ever-harder features of the language and steadily gives examples to write and compile on my own. There is a lot of talk, detailed explanations, and a clear path that gives small rewards on the way.

Is there anything of the like for elixir ? Some kind of progressive playground ? Everywhere I go I see small chunks of code that isn’t compiled but executed. I’d like to see what an actual programm looks like, be it as small as “hello world”, and grow from there.

Maybe I’m wrong in my whereabouts. If so, please explain me why, and what the best path would be for me.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

What are your feelings on: Introduction to Mix?

If you like that style then Elixir In Action (Manning) (2nd Edition) might be your speed.
If the functional programming aspect is giving you trouble Learn Functional Programming with Elixir (Pragprog) may be a better primer (Chapter 1: free from here).

4 Likes

I’m currently reading Programming Phoenix (Pragprog) where you get to follow along while creating an app (and I’m SO pleased you create an auth system as well!) and I also thoroughly enjoyed PragDave’s Elixir for Programmers (PragDave) where you get to code an app in an almost personal tutoring style.