Where is the chirp repo for the real-time Twitter clone in 15 minutes by Chris McCord?

So I saw this blog from Chris McCord, but I can’t find the repo for it… Anyone knows if the official one exists?

1 Like

Here you go:

https://github.com/dersnek/chirp

9 Likes

Thank you for sharing!!!

1 Like

Around seven minutes in the ‘likes’, ‘reposts’, 'edits", and ‘delete’ are added to the component with Font Awesome icons. I have gone through this twice, from the beginning, including deleting the db, and I can’t figure out where I am missing it.
Does anyone know where he is adding Font Awesome to the project?
I am a noob so I am sure I am missing something simple.

1 Like

Hi Bill.

To follow it through:

1. We see the root .eex template loads an app.css in (lib/chirp_web/templates/layout/root.html.leex).
  2. That file gets built by the asset pipeline and therefore must come from the Webpack build, so we check the assets folder.
  3. If you open the package.json there, you’ll see the font awesome package is required from npm, so that’s how it gets installed.
  4. Open the assets/css/app.css file and you’ll see the font awesome files “included” at the top. Webpack picks up these imports and inlines the requested files into the built app.css. The same one we initially saw in Point 1.

Point 4 can be seen on GitHub here.

3 Likes

Thanks so much for the response! I have learned from it.
I made the mistake of running around github looking for examples before I came back to reread your last sentence. That made all of the confusion on my part go away. Thanks for the example!

2 Likes

I was doing these steps and It was needed for me added this on the file webpack.config.js:

// Load fonts
{
test: /.(woff(2)?|ttf|eot|svg)(?v=\d+.\d+.\d+)?$/,
use: [{
loader: ‘file-loader’,
options: {
name: ‘[name].[ext]’,
outputPath: ‘…/fonts’
},
}],
},
]
},

and then:

cd assets && npm install && node node_modules/webpack/bin/webpack.js --mode development

4 Likes