Erlang/elixir sample code for real time voice chat?

1. I understand the argument of “erlang has it’s roots in telephony, of course erlang/elixir is a great fit for this”

2. I understand that voice chat is “basically just a router for udp packets, and elixir has great libraries for those”

3. For whatever reason, looking at old threads, I am not finding a good simple example:

Question: Is there any example of using erlang/elixir to build a simple voice chat server (I don’t care if the client is desktop software or browser/rtc), I’m just looking for something where erlang/elixir itself does the ‘heavy lifting’ (rather than offloading the work to some other server).

Thanks!

3 Likes

My understanding of such project is: elixir/erlang is a great fit of “orchestration”… connecting people, setting the pipeline of encoding/decoding/streaming via web/etc. But underneath those encoder/decoder are still delegated to some low level libs.

Though, please note, that I’m not an expert in the the subject and all my experience for realtime audio/video chat is limited by one project where it’s done via WebRTC and Elixir/Phoenix server was just authorizing and connection people.

I think you might be interested in Membrane Framework. Looks like they provide with plugins to use audio codecs and there is a repo with some demos.

4 Likes

Do you have any intuition on why this is? Given that audio is relatively “low bandwidth”, surely the problem is not copying bytes around efficiently. Is there some expensive step with encoding/mixing/decoding that Erlang/Elixir is not well suited for?

1 Like

My vague memories from “signal processing” class remind me that those algorithms usually require lots of numerical calculations. Simply saying - if digital audio is represented as a list of numbers - any conversion of it would require some kind of number crunching which is not the strongest side of the BEAM.