Is Timber.io dead? - what is an industry standard alternative?

Incase you have heard of or know Timber.io - is it still actively supported?

I’m a paying customer, have never heard back from their support, seems to be slightly buggy (setting date parameters in the search for example does not work for me) and last release to hexpm was over a year ago: https://hex.pm/packages/timber

I’m still learning about logging, what would you suggest as an ‘industry standard’ solution to having searchable logs?

I saw hexpm uses rollbar…

6 Likes

Afaik timber is in lowest level of support mode by their creators, while they’re working on https://vector.dev/. Personally I’ve moved away from them to AppSignal, as I actually needed exception tracking, while logs are fine stored locally by systemd. There are many other tools out there doing log aggregation, but not all of them might have specific elixir integrations (and depending on your sysadmin skills might not even need one)

5 Likes

I’ve moved from using Timber to using Logflare Logger Backend by @chasers

4 Likes

So cool! :heart_eyes:

2 Likes

Yeah I’m a paying customer but have yet to ever hear back from their support. As soon as I get the time we will move our product to another service.

1 Like

btw our stack traces look like this (looks like a new bug I have to fix), and you can easily bring up all of them with the query:

m.level:"error"

3 Likes

We have had very similar experience, and preemptively moved everything to AppSignal. It’s a shame because they had very good Elixir exception catching library. Only now, with 2.0-beta AppSignal is catching up with it, and will be able to actually catch all exceptions in the system.

But anyway, not all start-ups succeed, in fact most don’t.

1 Like

No. But they continue to charge (even emailing me asking to upgrade my service) but provide flakey service and zero customer support. It’s not a great way of operating.