Many-to-many associations in phoenix and ecto

I had some trouble figuring out how to make many-to-many associations work. Once I got it working, I wrote a blog post. Because I’m a novice, I probably got some things wrong. Please correct me.

http://blog.roundingpegs.com/an-example-of-many-to-many-associations-in-ecto-and-phoenix/

8 Likes

Thats a good start at documenting the many_to_many macro.
If anyone can point the way, I’m looking for some description of how to use many_to_many in CRUD operations with change_sets.

The example you give is the way I am using many_to_many also. But if we need to manage the join table manually like that, I’m not seeing how this is any different that defining has_many on both sides.

Is there a developers guide somewhere that shows usage for the many_to_many macro?

from: https://hexdocs.pm/ecto/Ecto.Schema.html#many_to_many/3
It gives examples on how to get data back out.

# Get all comments for a given post
post = Repo.get(Post, 42)
tags = Repo.all assoc(post, :tags)

# The comments can come preloaded on the post struct
[post] = Repo.all(from(p in Post, where: p.id == 42, preload: :tags)) 
post.tags #=> [%Tag{...}, ...]

But what I’m completely stumped about is how to add, update, and delete data from a many_to_many.

4 Likes

Ok so as long as everyone understands that I’m also new to Phoenix/Ecto as well …

I’m working on an example / demo app to experiment with has_many and many_to_many relationships.

And of course it’s a blog. :blush:

A Post has_many Comments
A Post will (someday be) many_to_many to Tag

Any comments and suggestions appreciated.

2 Likes

I have a variety of tests that I’ve done with many_to_many at Ecto `many_to_many` questions if they will help?

3 Likes

I think I’ve figured it out.

# Create the user. Note that the (empty) `organizations` field has to be preloaded.
user_map = %{display_name: "User 1", login_name: "1@y.com", password: "password"}