OK, I created a Phoenix application (after reading numerous books), now how do I deploy it?

Note: Please read the question and details, and think about it before reading any of the replies.

There are numerous resources (books, video tutorials/courses, blog-posts etc) which will teach a complete noob how to create a web application based on Phoenix from start to finish, but there is no single resource which will teach her to deploy that same application (in a way as if it’s taught to a 5 / 6 years old).

I had high hopes from the book Designing Elixir Systems with OTP, but when I read its contents, it doesn’t teach how to actually deploy the SCALABLE application you created after reading that book, and I think nobody designs a SCALABLE application just to keep it in her harddisk and brag about it in front of her friends.

Is there any book which will teach me how to deploy an Elixir / Phoenix application in a way as if Jose or Chris is deploying himself or someone from Plataformatec or DockYard in the best scalable way on a group of bare-metal servers rented at Hetzner or a cluster of VPS instances from DO, Linode (again) Hetzner or other cheap (but reliable) host?
I checked Rails community have some nice books (and some dedicated coruses) on this topic which teaches a noob how to deploy a Rails application to a VPS (with and without Docker/Kubernetes etc) she just created.

2 Likes

This link should help you to deploy your application to digital ocean https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-deploy-elixir-phoenix-applications-with-mysql-on-ubuntu-16-04

Fair warning never used before, but the documentation in DO(digital ocean ) is usually very accurate.

Also if you find it hard to understand the terms then you should learn some basic Linux. I would recommend ubuntu because it is easy.

Good luck

3 Likes