Phoenix + Vue.js CLI: How do you manage the build and development pipelines?

Hi folks,

I’m working on a greenfield webapp. The stack I’d like to try is Vue on top of Phoenix. I’m not new to vue, but I’m new to Phoenix.

I wonder how you all have been addressing the js build chain at development & build time.

I’d love to be able to use the vue cli as much as possible. JS tooling is definitely not my strong suit and so far I’ve found it incredibly useful, with super sane defaults and really cool features (ex, modern mode )

However, one side effect of using vue-cli is that webpack config is kind of abstracted away.

Right now I’m thinking about structuring my project as follows:

1. Start a new phoenix project with --no-webpack ;
  2. Start a vue project using vue-cli-service , with these two changes:
  • priv/static should be the build target
  • lib/myapp/templates/layout/app.html.eex should be the index_path for vue-cli-service

Would this work? Anyone here using vue & phoenix have a similar setup?

As well, how do you handle developing the vue component of your app (ie, leveraging vue-cli-service serve ) with such a setup?

Many thanks, loving phoenix so far.

5 Likes

Personally, I run them completely separately in development. And have a shell script in the Vue project that builds the release then rsync’s it into a folder in the Phoenix project when I’m ready to push out a release.

1 Like

We are using Phoenix as the backend, and Nuxt (a Vue framework) as the frontend. Both frontend and backend are separate application and we deploy them separately.

1 Like

Thanks! I suppose that makes sense. So you have Phonenix serve your static vue app? Just for clarification, does this mean that your phoenix templates/layout/app.html.eex is actually the vue index page? Where do you have a <div id="app"> (or similar), in templates/layout/app.html.eex or in templates/pages/index.html.eex ?