Should I study HTML and CSS before Elixir?

Hello there,

I’m new to programming, but I want to start with functional programming. I would like to know two things:

1. Should I study HTML and CSS first?
  2. Are they really essential for web development or does Phoenix replace them?
    I appreciate any help you can provide me. Thanks.
4 Likes

Hi @Hebert welcome and welcome to programming!

Especially when starting out, a bit of dabbling doesn’t hurt. Functional Programming and HTML / CSS are not very closely related, you don’t need to do one before the other. That said, playing around with a simple HTML file and some CSS can be very rewarding, so I would consider doing some HTML basics alongside your functional programming efforts.

HTML / CSS are indeed essential, but you don’t need to be an expert to get going. Phoenix doesn’t replace them, but rather in Phoenix you write Elixir code that generates html.

Taking a bit of a step back though, I would strongly caution against jumping into a web framework in any language if you’re new to programming. Take some time to learn HTML basics on its own, and take some time to learn the basic building blocks of a language.

You don’t need to be an expert at Elixir to use Phoenix, and there’s no harm in a bit of cargo culting when you get started, but you’ll be a lot less frustrated with your Phoenix code if you have a working grasp of Elixir fundamentals (and this holds true for any language / framework pair).

11 Likes

Oh my, if you are getting started with programming, elixir is one of the hardest languages to learn, because it is partly functional and includes a big feature set from the VM it is running on (OTP). I would recommend you to start it as simple as possible, you need first to understand the differences between MVC frameworks and API/spa applications, this will take you a little time until you map everything in your head.

3 Likes