The "costs" of LiveView

I’m very new to Phoenix and LiveView but I’ve been loving it so far. I’m currently using it on a traditional web app that would otherwise need to be structured as a SPA. Speed/productivity/etc. are incredible.

This got me thinking, though, about the costs of LiveView outside the context of an obvious use case.

For example, imagine a high-traffic online newspaper or blog. I love how quick navigation flows with LiveView and how I can avoid Javascript. That being said, this speed isn’t free.

There is the memory required in keeping open a socket connection and maintaining state for each site visitor.

Also, it’s not clear to me how caching would even work (for example, will a cached page still hit the database after loading given that mount is presumably always called?)

I guess I’m just curious about how I should think about the trade-offs. Besides memory usage and potentially issues with caching, are there any other obvious things to take into account? I love LiveView but want to be realistic about its limitations before depending on it for every project.

9 Likes

Just return static HTML. Do not use LV in such example, because what is the reason for that? Why do I need to have JS (even with LV you have JS, just not written by you) to read, well, plain text?

Serving static HTMLs will also answer your other questions about caching and keeping connections open.

3 Likes

This is a very interesting topic and a question that all responsible engineers should ask themselves when deciding whether to go with LV. For sure I did ask it to myself many times. It’s even more important considering that LV is a highly promoted feature in Phoenix 1.5+, backed by a homepage redesign.