New to programming, how should I proceed in learning Elixir?

I work in IT as a network admin and am new to programming. There are a lot of resources for learning Elixir but it seems that not many are truly geared towards individuals without programming experience.

I am looking for recommendations such as what resources and in what order, etc.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Rich

2 Likes

In order to understand elixir, you need to understand how functional programming works first. As you might already know, there are a lot of differences between OO and functional programming. I guess Wikipedia have a lot of resources regarding this subject. This knowledge is necessary for you to think in functional way. If you think that is enough, you can try out the elixir-lang getting started page. It have a good overview about elixir. Programming Elixir is another good resource. Then you can learn one of elixir framework, Phoenix. If Elixir is your first destination, then it is great. Because youā€™re not yet affected by OO mindset. But be aware, most of programming job you meet is going to be OO. English is not my native, I hope you understand what Iā€™m saying :slight_smile:

1 Like

Youā€™ll find tons of valuable info about which direction to pick in this thread:

4 Likes

I think that the Programming Elixir book by Dave Thomas is probably the one that is most readable without prior programming experience. Of course, the guides on the elixir-lang.org website are meant to be great beginner-material as well.

Of course, most of us have been programmers for a longer amount of time, which makes it hard to think from the mindset of a novice, and which therefore makes it harder to write guides/books that do not assume certain ā€˜base understandingsā€™ that we take for granted.

So most importantly: There are no dumb questions. We here at the forum are there to help when something is unclear to you :slight_smile: , so ask away!

4 Likes