ecto usage in example projects?

Hi all! I’m new to elixir and phoenix and am trying to run this project:
https://github.com/chvanikoff/reph2

I want to convert an existing react app (or at least the rest api for the database to elixir but every example project I find on Github has some sort or error regarding ecto. I’ve tried all the examples posted in https://elixirforum.com/t/user-authentication-in-phoenix/118/81 but encounter similar errors to this:
could not compile dependency :phoenix_ecto, "mix compile" failed. You can recompile this dependency with "mix deps.compile phoenix_ecto", update it with "mix deps.update phoenix_ecto" or clean it with "mix deps.clean phoenix_ecto"

I’ve tried cleaning all my mix packages as well as mix.update --all.

Are all these projects just dead or am I missing something?

Also if anyone has suggestions of a working example of a elixir server with authentication (ideally with react as well) please do hesitate to share.

Thank you to the elixir developers I can see the magic in the bottle but still feel like I’m taping on the glass.

Thank you for any/all suggestions/ideas/setting me straight

Even though I can compile the dependencies on my system (Arch linux), it fails currently with the router and prints out about a billion of warnings.

Also the particular example you posted is written in phoenix 1.1, so it will give you a false sense of how things are done today.

You should search for examples that use a more current phoenix (1.3).

Sadly I can’t give you any links to small example projects, but only to a fully grown application: The hex.pm website.

1 Like

This one seems to work, I’ve just tested it locally https://github.com/chernyshof/react-phoenix-users-boilerplate and it uses Phoenix 1.3

One thing to note is that you’d have to use admin@admin.com and not just admin as stated in the readme in order to log in.

5 Likes

Here is a toy project of mine https://github.com/voger/GQLardian