Programming in Elixir with Docker on Windows

Hello,

few days ago I changed my GPU and I had to switch from Linux to Windows. I consider learning Docker instead of installing Elixir on my machine. Is it worth my time? I’m still learning Elixir basics and I don’t have any experience with Docker, but I thought that maybe it’s a good idea and some kind of investment for the future.

Unfortunately, virtual machines don’t work well on my machine, they are pretty slow and I have bad experience with using them.

Thanks!

If I am using windows, I use WSL2. With this i can treat it as any other Linux machine. You do not need to use docker, but If you did, it has nice integration with WSL.

In WSL, I use asdf for elixir/erlang/nodejs

5 Likes

This is also the best advice I can give as a Windows user.

I’ve been using WSL for the past 2 years with Elixir and the overall experience has been pretty good (especially after some WSL2 tweaks).

2 Likes

You shouldn’t compound one unknown with yet another one. Learn Elixir, don’t learn Elixir and Docker at the same time.

I’m using Windows 10 to write Elixir – but I use a Linux Mint virtual machine and actually code in there. I recommend you go that route.

https://my.vmware.com/en/web/vmware/downloads/info/slug/desktop_end_user_computing/vmware_workstation_player/16_0

My main current machine runs Windows 10, and having come to it from Linux (Fedora) I’ll attest to WSL2 working remarkably well. I brought my Linux dotfiles along (making a few wsl-specific edits here and there), and I have an environment that feels pretty comfortable. Windows terminal is finally good enough to live in. From day to day I hardly notice that I’m effectively working in a VM. Performance is impressive - within a few percent of running Linux on bare metal. You can even use your GPU from WSL (though until the final WSLg release it involves running a Windows Insider build, so probably better to wait a few months for that).