Elixir Snippet Compiler / Debugger For Visual Studio Code?

I’m just starting out with Elixir in Visual Studio, coming from Python using PyCharm to develop.

In PyCharm there was a 1 click compiler & debugger. So far I can’t find anything like that for Elixir for Visual Studio?

Am I missing something?

If you’re debugging in Visual Studio how are you compiling/debugging code snippets?

1 Like

You mean Visual Studio Code?

There is no integration. If you are using a Mix project, a simple mix compile on the command line should do the trick. Then to run your application, a simple iex -S mix should load an Elixir shell and your application, so you can do commands from there.

1 Like

This will be an unpopular opinion to some, I’m sure, but I’m of the opinion that classic “step debugging” is largely useless in BEAM applications. The problems you encounter will more often than not have something to do with how you’ve laid out your actual process infrastructure.

What step debugging means for execution in processes is that you’ll be holding up a process live system, so it in fact doesn’t help for the actually important issues you’ll be investigating, as they’ll probably show up mostly under load where several processes need to interact. Obviously, if you freeze a process that might need to interact with other processes and as such won’t be responding to requests from elsewhere, you’re now actually the one breaking the system and your debugging has caused effects far beyond what a normal bug could.

It’s something akin to how you can’t determine the spin of an atom (?) without stopping it, thus actually influencing it.

There are other, better ways of debugging, like tracing, that will actually intercept messages between processes and give you information about the state changes in those processes.

If you’re not referring to debugging in the sense previously mentioned, could you please clarify what it is you mean?

1 Like