Itertating a 2D matrix

Hey everyone, I am new to Elixir language and I am having some issues while writing a piece of code.

What I am given is a 2D array like

list1 = [
           [1 ,2,3,4,"nil"],
           [6,7,8,9,10,],
           [11,"nil",13,"nil",15],
           [16,17,"nil",19,20] ]

Now, what I’ve to do is to get all the elements that have values between 10 and 20, so what I’m doing is:

final_list = []
Enum.each(list1, fn row ->   
Enum.each(row, &(if (&1 >= 10 and &1 <= 99) do final_list = final_list ++ &1 end)) 
end
)

Doing this, I’m expecting that I’ll get my list of numbers in final_list but I’m getting blank final list with a warning like:

warning: variable "final_list" is unused (there is a variable with the same name in the context, use the pin operator (^) to match on it or prefix this variable with underscore if it is not meant to be used)
  iex:5

:ok

and upon printing final_list, it is not updated.

When I try to check whether my code is working properly or not, using IO.puts as:

iex(5)> Enum.each(list1, fn row ->                                              ...(5)> Enum.each(row, &(if (&1 >= 10 and &1 <= 99) do IO.puts(final_list ++ &1) end))     
...(5)> end
...(5)> )

The Output is:

What could I possibly be doing wrong here? Shouldn’t it add the elements to the final_list?
If this is wrong ( probably it is), what should be the possible solution to this?

Any kind of help will be appreciated.

1 Like

In your specific example, it is better to use Enum.reduce.

2 Likes

On it! giving it a try

1 Like

Hello and welcome,

The code You try to write is not going to work in FP, for many reasons… mostly because data is immutable, and scope is strict. What is defined in a do end block will disappear when the block end.

It’s not an array, it’s a list of list, more prcisely they are linked lists, and do not have the same properties (Not done for index access)

The final list is not going to leak into the wrapping code.