Custom Mix Tasks

Hoping to get some insight from those who work on Elixir code in production or in their side projects - what do you write custom Mix tasks for?

Elixir is my first language and I have no working experience as an SE, so I was curious about others who have implemented this feature in a practical way?

1 Like

We have written a custom code generator mix task. Working with external APIs, we wrote the same set of API provider-specific modules every time a new integration would be added.

The generator is simple/naive in its implementation, but it saves hours of repetitive copying, pasting and adjusting. It spits out the modules alongside some unit tests and prints out a to-do list of tasks that need to be performed manually.

The task itself was maybe half a day‘s work and has paid for that time investment many times over by now. (Refactoring the code base to a point where it‘s extensible in a way that is so straightforward that a codegen is even an option was naturally a bit more involved, but that is a different story :slight_smile: )

3 Likes

That kind of story makes for an invaluable article for many still learning and improving in their Elixir journey
 :wink:

2 Likes

Custom tasks are good to formalize data migrations that should run as part of a multi-step migration strategy when changing DB and Ecto schema structures in large database projects. It’s a good way to plan for, check, execute, and test data changes at every step. Then they can be moved to a history branch for posterity when the migrations succeed.

2 Likes

I didn’t even consider the idea of leveraging it in with respect to third party integration.

Seems it’s easy to get bogged down earlier on with connecting the dots internally, I forget that the value of almost any non-trivial program is from interaction with outside processes/APIs and need to grow my mindset to consider that potential from the beginning.

1 Like