New to Elixir

Hey guys! I would like to take this opportunity to say that I am in awe of how awesome and supportive the Elixir community is.

I am fairly new to programming and I have decided to start learning Elixir as my first language using the book Joy of Elixir.
I wonder if there are more books like that so that I could use them in my journey of learning Elixir,
and I would also appreciate any tip for learning in general!

Thanks again and I hope you all have an amazing day :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello and welcome! I hope you enjoy it here.

I am not sure if you want to stick to books only but Elixir’s official tutorial is very solid, one of the best I ever stumbled upon.

That, plus the Exercism.IO Elixir track will make you more than ready to read and write Elixir.

Of course, things like Ecto and Phoenix are universes in themselves but they are very approachable and the community here is supportive and helps people get into them as well.

3 Likes

The book Elixir in Action was very helpful to me when I was learning Elixir. The Pragmatic Studio is also great for video tutorials + sample projects.

And don’t underestimate the HexDocs for Elixir, Ecto, Phoenix, LiveView, and any other libraries you might be using. You’ll often find full tutorials for common use cases right there in the docs.

2 Likes

Welcome @light . You say you’re ‘fairly new to programming’, so (depending on how new exactly) it’s worth being aware that Elixir is (I’m pretty sure) most often picked up by people with a fair bit of experience in other languages. This isn’t because it’s notably difficult (it’s really not!), but just a matter of its not being as well known as more common ‘beginner’ languages like python and javascript (the latter, by the way, is a much more difficult language to learn well than Elixir).