The need of GenServers in Phoenix

Hello,

I hope I am asking the question the right way here.

I’m curious as to the benefits of introducing additional GenServer usage for internal state management within an API build around phoenix framework. Does it offer any additional benefits over validating state using database constraints?

I see concurrency and fault tollerance mentioned with GenServers too, but doesn’t Phoenix already take care of this?

An example scenario:

I am a student.
I want to be able to create a study groups.
I want to make sure that a student can only be in one study group per subject they study
I want to be able to invite other students to the group I have created

All this to me, can be locked down at the database layer and the only thing I see the GenServer introducing is a bottleneck that all my group related actions have to go through.

And if I wanted to scale the app, it behaves the same. The database still manages concurrency and validation.

Is there something I am missing with this here?

edit: ah hell, something just dawned on me. If I want to allow multiple people to add people to the group in the future I am going to have issues aren’t I?

Yes and no, they use case is completely different. GenServers are useful in cases where you need failure isolation.

Not Phoenix, but Cowboy which is underlying HTTP and WebSocket server.

If you use GenServer incorrectly it will be and bottleneck, but it has it’s use cases. For example imagine that you want to do background processing of data in a pool. Then you can use pool like poolboy and then each GenServer process will be responsible for one task. Other use case is when you want to provide simple cron-like features. Or you want to handle custom startup-shutdown features (for example connection draining). And so on. There is a lot of possible use cases outside of the REST-like HTTP connection handling.

2 Likes