Genstage patterns

I’m fairly new to Elixir, and so far I’m finding it very exciting. So many of my concurrency problems seem to be solved in a simple, elegant way. Now i’ve learnt the basics, I’m trying to write some applications and am having trouble working out the right patterns.

First I was using Wabbit as a Genstage producer (consuming from a rabbitmq queue). I was doing some processing on the messages and then inserting into a DB. It worked great locally, around ~8000/s. When I moved it to a production environment, after excessive logging, I worked out that it was choking up at the Sink end (backpressure was working!) because of latency of writes. Locally, i would get say, 500 events to the consumer at a time, but in production i would get 1 at a time, which would make for higher latency on the write per message.

My solution was to create a stage which buffered upto x events, or for x ms (whichever came first). To be more concrete, here is the code.

# This will handle the acks back to rabbitmq
defmodule RabbitAckker do
  use GenStage
  require Logger

def start_link() do
    GenStage.start_link(__MODULE__, :ok)
  end

def init(:ok) do
    Process.send_after(self(), {:flush}, 500) # first message is fairly soon after startup
    {:producer_consumer, []}
  end

# handle events coming from rabbit
  def handle_events(events, _from, state) do
    event_buffer = state
    new_event_buffer = event_buffer ++ events
    messages_before_purge = 400

if (Enum.count(new_event_buffer) >= messages_before_purge) do
      for {event, meta} <- new_event_buffer do
        :ok = ack(meta.channel, meta.delivery_tag)
      end

# pass all events down to the next stage
      {:noreply, new_event_buffer, []}
    else
      # don't pass any events down, just store them in the state
      {:noreply, [], new_event_buffer}
    end
  end

# when this flush message comes, ack the events and pass them down.
  # TODO: only flush when we haven't acked anything in flush_time ms